The calm before the storm, and using your teeth

22 Jan

Oh my poor blog. It is so neglected. Wow, I just realized this is my first post of 2009! My original intent with this blog was to post all kinds of stuff about my journey through the world of IT. Well, the latest fork in my path has just presented itself. We at PCG are about to embark upon an incredible adventure. We are about to purchase an ERP system. At this point in the effort, there’s lots of busy work and planning we have to do. Obviously, there is the vendor selection but I also have to try to determine our readiness as a development organization. This is actually kind of fun because I get to evaluate the technical capabilities of each vendor, which means learning some new technology. It’s like the calm before the storm, since the real work will be in the implementation effort: the modeling (and probable discovery) of our business processes, technology training, data conversion, configuring dev/test/training environments…the list goes on and on. Which leads me to wonder if there are any agile ERP implementers out there? As we go through our implementation, I’ll try to keep a log here of the salient events that take place.

So in my time away from work I have been focusing on something completely unrelated to the world of IT: playing guitar. This has become my passion (besides my family, of course), and has been a new found way to relieve stress. I’m really trying to get my technique together, at the same time starting to learn some songs I want to play. I’ve been scouring the Internet for anything by Paul Gilbert, since he has awesome technique and I love his playing!

On a completely unrelated note, have you ever noticed how some people use their teeth to accomplish certain things? I use my teeth to open things like plastic bags when my fingers are too big to pull the tiny seams apart. In fact, I just opened a bag of carrots like this. For me, I suppose it’s mostly out of laziness, since I would probably use scissors if they were available. But, nobody was around, so I just ripped it open with my teeth. Maybe coding is like that. Maybe people who are lazy or don’t want to take the time to find the “right” way to do something just hack it, and “use their teeth” on it. I think I’ll tell my developers that sometime if they are stuck on a technical problem, and see what they say. “How do you do that in Javascript?” “I don’t know, use your teeth on it.” On the other hand, I use my teeth sometimes too, like today to open the plastic bag of carrots I had for lunch. It worked, didn’t it? It wasn’t the most elegant solution, but it was functional. So, I guess it’s OK, as long as nobody sees it! 🙂

One Response to “The calm before the storm, and using your teeth”

  1. jhered February 17, 2009 at 3:56 am #

    ” use my teeth sometimes too, like today to open the plastic bag of carrots I had for lunch. It worked, didn’t it? ”

    I suppose that’s the thing about programming… if it passes the unit test then it worked. So who cares what it ‘looks like’?

    It’s probably bad to have duplication in your app unless it’s duplication that won’t be problematic. (we had some duplication that wasn’t coupled to eachother so that made it ok, right? :))

Leave a Reply

