Kansas City Agile Discussion Group

10 Jun

I have been attending meetings of the AgileKC discussion group for a while, and I really enjoy it. We recently started meeting at the Pizza Shoppe, which is cool because I love pizza. We used to meet at KC Masterpiece, which was also cool because I love BBQ, but you always left smelling like a BBQ pit. We haven’t had a meeting in a while and I get the sense that the group is either out of ideas to talk about, or needs more organization and/or motivation. It seems like the same handful of people lead and participate in the discussions each time. Maybe spending 15-20 minutes at the next meeting to do a quick retrospective of past meetings and discuss potential meeting topics could yield a rough agenda for the next several meetings. I’ll have to call James and see what he thinks. Here are some topics I would love to hear more about from the group:

  • agile integration testing tools/techniques
  • agile project portfolio managment (I’ve heard people refer to AgilePMO, which would be interesting)
  • measuring business value/ROI of agile projects (my friend Tamara talks about AgileEVM, I would like to know if others have applied this)

 

That’s all I can think of right now. I’m looking forward to the next meeting, assuming we have one!

2 Responses to “Kansas City Agile Discussion Group”

  1. jhered July 3, 2008 at 3:44 am #

    Chris,
    I was able to reach someone at Visionpace, they do plan on having a meeting in Late July. However, that doesn’t mean we can’t put something together to spice things up. You say you’d like to talk about agile integration testing tools and techniques… I would love to hear about something like this. Do you think one of your testers could put something together?

    I’ve been really wanting to talk about TDD and how to apply it in ‘legacy code’. i’ve been reading a lot of Robert Martin books and practicing some techniques in my blog site code.

    I would LOVE to do something like this at work… but the tangled mess we’d have to unravel is so big it would bring our velocity to a grinding halt.

    ALSO, after reading Ken Schwaber’s “The enterprise and scrum” we were able to implement an interesting scaled approach to scrum that i’m excited about.

    Another thing i’m interested in talking about is how to deal with team members who “Just want to work and don’t care how they work” … I guess people who dislike conflict or interpersonal relations. They’re on our teams, and sometimes you can’t get rid of them because they aren’t really breaking any HR rules.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Squeaky Wheel « Chris Leon’s Blog - August 19, 2008

    […] also been grumbling about the AgileKC user group. So, at the last meeting I brought up some ideas for discussion […]

Leave a Reply

